Dear SAHM, you impact the world…

Children running with the wind.

When I made the decision to be a stay-home mom, I was terrified and clueless. I wondered if my time at home was worthwhile (I still do at times). Most say, leaving your job before 30 is career suicide.

Like many young women, I had dreams of making a difference for God. Going into the marketplace and impact the world for His glory. Isn’t that what we often hear from the pulpit?

Instead of important business meetings and nailing that presentation, my priorities become getting through today’s Chinese lesson and laundry while also buying groceries and Popsicle sticks for my kid’s craft.

I start to feel like my all-consuming tasks aren’t very important…

How can I use my gift to serve Him? How can I be missional as a SAHM?

True, I’m making a difference in my family. However, can I impact MORE than just my family?

Yes, you can.

Almost a year ago, I was chatting with an ex-colleague over WhatsApp. We’ve been keeping in contact now and then. In our conversation, she made a remark: “Zuo Ren Hen Nan” (translates: ‘Making’ a person is very difficult).

Curious, I probed further and found that she and her husband have been trying to have a baby. And yet, each time, they were left disappointed.

Her heartache plucked at my heartstrings. I went through a journey of anticipation as well. I’m fully aware of the emotional roller-coaster it has been for her as a woman and a wife. We shared our woes and fears. I assured her that I’ll be praying for her.

A few months later, I received good news from my friend. She was expecting! We rejoiced  and “hugged” over WhatsApp. Unfortunately, our rejoice turned into mourning as she suffered a miscarriage. I couldn’t help but cry alongside.

There were the “whys”, “hows” and “what if”…we can never understand why it happened. But I know God is sovereign and He holds our future in his hand. It wasn’t easy for me to convey God’s peace amidst the sadness; as we share different faith.

Through the weeks following, I did what I knew was best for them. Giving them time to grieve and reminding them that all is not lost.  Their precious one is in heaven, safe with Abba Father.  Although, we may never comprehend why such tragedy must take place, God has His perfect plan in His perfect time. We put our trust in Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I recalled the snippet from “Heaven is for Real” – a little boy’s astounding trip to heaven and back. He speaks of meeting his unborn sister that died in a miscarriage whom no one had told him about. I hope by sharing this story, the couple will be somewhat comforted.

In one prayer session, I saw a vision of my friend and her husband. She was lying in a hospital bed, carrying a baby swaddled in blue cloth.

Seeing such vision isn’t a common thing for me…I wasn’t sure if it was all in my head or a psychological phenomenon. After much deliberation and prayer, I decided to step out in faith. “Faith without works is dead.” (James 2:26)

For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also. 

I told my friend of my vision and assured her that in God’s perfect timing, she will have a baby boy.

Months passed…I didn’t hear from my friend. Nevertheless, they were always in my prayers.

Finally, I received a message that she passed the first trimester. Praise God! And the baby’s gender? A boy! Their baby’s name means “God has given”.

Isn’t God amazing?

guide

Source

Pray for the Holy Spirit to help you.  You’ll never know whom God sends in your way. It could be that cashier whom you meet when you do your weekly grocery…the old lady who lives beside you…the child who plays with your children at the playground.

See how a shy child light up when you tell him God will use him; even when he has a quiet character. God created him just as he is for a purpose. And that it is okay if he needs time to warm up new environment or people.

While being a SAHM means being with your kids 24/7, we still impact the world. Not only through our children but every single soul we meet. God has you right where you are for a reason.  

YOU are important. And YOU can impact the world from where you are.

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

One thought on “Dear SAHM, you impact the world…”

Leave a Reply

