Unstuck: Looking Outward

Fly AwaySource

After much blog silence,  I’m back.  From my previous post, “Sitting on a Seesaw with God“, things hasn’t changed drastically but I’ve learned a lot (and still am learning) from this period of waiting.

Look beyond our problems

I’m starting to look outward and beyond the problems at hand.  One day, when I no longer feel the weight of the problem, then perhaps I might come to realise that the problem no longer exists.

Change your thoughts and you change your world.

Norman Vincent Peale

Count our blessings

Rather than focusing on the things that I have no control over, I’ve begun to thank God for the little things.  Like rejoicing the very breath that we hold!

Give and be an encouragement

Charles Dickens’ once said,

No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.

Often, I’m stumped by situations at home: how can I get the children to eat better? What can I do to make Elijah sleep through?  How do I juggle homeschool and housework when I feel so drained?

Now, I try to pay more attention to people around me.  Praying for others and just being there for another really helps put things in perspective.  And well, reminds me that God hears my prayers.

Self-care is important

Most stay-home moms will agree that we tend to put our family first and neglect ourselves.  During this time, I’m reminded that self-care is equally important.

As Elijah continues to wake up at night, I don’t get quality sleep.  To get a good head start in the morning, I’ve started to turn in early.  That means, sacrificing my blogging hours. So I need to accept that there might come a time when no one reads my blog (except for my ever supportive husband!)

Also, I’ve been watching my diet.  I try to practice proper nutrition by snacking healthily (less chocolates!) and exercising whenever possible.

God is always constant

Above all else, I remember that God is always constant.  His love endures forever.  What He says, He will do.

To you, in need of an encouragement, do not be dismayed.

Your entire life is already written out in His master plan.  Take heart!

He hears your cries and saves your tears.  God will never leave you nor forsake you.

Hallelujah!

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

2 thoughts on “Unstuck: Looking Outward”

  1. Indeed, when we lift up our eyes to the hills, and see where our help comes from, our perspective will change and contentment will grow in His time. Taking care of yourself is a good priority now so that you can jog the ma-rathon. : ) Blogging can wait till your season is ripe and right in His time. Am encouraged by your blogging but also mindful of it’s energy and time consumption. Jiayou!!! He has given you enough for the day. Be joyful I hope, faithful in prayer and patient in affliction. Rom 12:12.

Leave a Reply

