Katy and the Big Snow: Learn Cardinal Directions and Compass Rose

Katy and the Big Snow

Have you had an encounter where you were led by the Spirit to do or say something?

I had this recent encounter with this book, Katy and the Big Snow!

Most days, I follow the curriculum, plan ahead and execute. But lately, I struggle to keep up with blogging, teaching and well, almost everything.  It feels like I’m no longer on top of things.  With Elijah’s frequent night waking,  I hardly could afford the energy to stay up late to plan my lessons or blog.

I had intended to teach cardinal directions and map reading, since Hannah enjoys searching out landmarks on a map. And wanted to get a good book that we could read along.

As I scanned the book list recommended by Five in Row (FIAR), my heart just told me to pick Katy and the Big Snow. I wasn’t sure why and with little time, I simply went ahead and borrowed the book from the library.

Judging from the book title, it certainly has something to do with snow. That was something we had learned the previous week, so I do a review of our previous lesson with the book.

But guess what? God had something better in store.  Amazingly, when I opened Katy and the Big Snow, there it was…map of Geopolis, compass rose, cardinal directions…EVERYTHING was as planned!  I could review our past lesson AND teach something new this week.  Isn’t God amazing?

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

John  14:26

This verse immediately came to my mind when I reflected on things.  The Holy Spirit teaches us ALL things (even in homeschooling!) and He is our Counsellor, Helper, Comforter.  We had recently summed up our study on God as the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  This certainly is when a bible lesson comes alive!

Of course, to those who came to this post wanting activities for Katy and the Big Snow, here they are:

Activities

Most activities were taken from Homeschool Share.  E.g. we did copy work, created a fictional character, measured things around the house in inches then convert them to centimetre, build a city and labelled a compass.

Then we put our map skills to the test using the Lakeside Campground Map found on Super Teacher Worksheets.

As part of independent reading, Hannah read “City Signs” by Zoran Milich. It’s simply photographs of signs that children could identify.

City Signs

And while we were out, we identified signs in our neighbourhood, and on buses and trains.

You could also refer to The Pennsylvania Center for the Book for lesson plans on Katy and the Big Snow.

Last Words

I’m not advocating that you close your eyes and do an “eeny meeny mint mo” with your lessons or anything!

I sincerely hope that by sharing my testimony, parents especially homeschooling moms are encouraged and reminded that we are not alone on this journey.

Our ever faithful God is with us rain or shine! Our struggles are real. It will not go away. However with each struggle, we WILL see his love and we WILL grow STRONGER.

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

Leave a Reply

