ABCJLM Week 1: Sun, Moon and Earth

Over the last two weeks, we studied the Sun, Moon and our “Blue Planet”. I admit I’m taking a week longer to finish what’s scheduled, but as long as we’re enjoying the process and continue to learn.  I’m good with the pace.

We learned that the gravity of the Sun holds its gases together; forming a consistent shape and size.  The Sun’s gravity also pulls on the planets so that they go around it.  It is also the perfect distance between the Sun and Earth that allows life to flourish.  How amazing is that?!

Earth orbits Sun activity

To demonstrate what “orbit” meant, I got Hannah to swirl a ball of blue play dough (Earth) around a piece of orange play dough (Sun) on a dish. It certainly takes practice to steady our hands and swirl the ball at a constant rate!

Rotation of Earth around Sun: Day and Night

We learned that the Earth rotates every day and takes a year to orbit around the Sun.  To understand how day and night occurs, we used a flashlight (Sun) to shine on a ball (Earth).  We mark a spot on the ball as Singapore, then rotate it slowly.

Next, Hannah became the Sun.  She had to hold still (which was difficult) with the flashlight while I go around her with the ball.  She couldn’t wait to be Earth!  As she walked around me, she sang the months of year in English and Mandarin.

Now the messy bit!

Form Moon Craters Activity

We read that the Moon’s craters are formed when meteorites hit its surface.  And because the Moon has no atmosphere, it has no weather or wind.  So once a crater is formed, there is no way to remove it.

Hannah had fun throwing peanuts (meteorites) onto a plate of flour (moon).  We had observed that the greater the force used to throw the peanut, the bigger/deeper the crater.  Eventually, she decided to put her hands on the “moon”!

Our finale…

Sun-Earth-Moon-Orbit Craft

I love this model because it summarises nicely what we’ve learned. You can download the Sun-Earth-Moon Orbiting Craft here.

Here’s the list books we’ve used:

  1. Sun: Energy for Our Solar System by Julie K. Lundgren
  2. The Sun: The Star of Our Solar System by Ellen Lawrence
  3. The Moon by Nuria Roca, Carol Isern, Rocio Bonilla (check out “The Sun” by the same authors too!)

One reason why I enjoy homeschooling? It’s because I’m always learning together with my child. And without fail, I walk away awe-struck by God’s greatness.

What have you been learning lately?

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

8 thoughts on “ABCJLM Week 1: Sun, Moon and Earth”

  1. Sounds like heaps of fun! I don’t want to give up working but I do miss having time and energy to do this educational fun projects with my kids. Lucky we now have holidays so we can do a bit more, at least we’ve covered loads of geography but also how daylight is created when travelling in the far north of Finland where sun doesn’t set for a few weeks this time of the year.

  2. Thanks for sharing Dawn. I’m learning along with you and Hannah too as I read your blog. I didn’t know some of those things you taught her! :))

    1. Hey Angie!

      Thanks for dropping by. We are surviving. 🙂 Mishmash of good days, bad days, crazy days…

      Sorry, I’ve hadn’t been able to keep up with reading all other posts too. I’ll go check out your lessons. 😉

Leave a Reply

