Reflections of a Mom: Hannah Turns 4!

Happy Birthday, Hannah

Just like that…my little girl turns 4! It’s crazy how children grow up right before your very eyes.  As I posted pictures of our birthday celebration, I looked back at those taken several months ago.  And boy, did I realised how much Hannah has grown! Not just her outward appearance, but also her budding maturity.  I guess, sometimes, we get so caught up with the everyday that we haven’t had the time to stop, look back and see the progress we’ve made.

Of course, as I reflect on the days, I can’t help but have regrets and guilt.  I wish I’m able to spend more time alone with her.  I wish I didn’t say some things I’ve said out of anger.  I wish I could take back some of my actions.  I wish I could have done more.

But what’s done cannot be undone.  I pray for strength to overcome the challenges I face within myself.  I pray for wisdom for the days ahead.  I pray for love…love that keeps us going day by day.

Over the weekend when we celebrated Hannah’s birthday with her Sunday School friends, her teachers (at least 2 of them) assumed I baked the birthday cake.  I was embarrassed to tell them that it was done by my friend.  That guilt of “I should be doing everything” haunts me every now and then.

As I search within myself.  I’ve come to realised that being a good mother isn’t about doing everything on your own.  It’s about seeking help when you need to.  It’s okay that I don’t bake or sew…and that I’m guilty of having takeouts every now and then.  But that doesn’t stop me from me a good mom.

In fact, I’m a GREAT mother to my children.  Simply because I am THEIR mother..there is no other.  No one can take that special place in my children’s heart.

Hello Hannah

As I thought about the things I wanted to pen down, the words to Lee Ann Womack’s “I hope you dance” filled my mind.  So I shall make the lyrics of the song as my closing.

To my firstborn, my little princess…

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

One thought on “Reflections of a Mom: Hannah Turns 4!”

Leave a Reply

