How Do I Carry On?

Turned Upside Down: Homeschool Crafts

I’ve been very quiet as life’s been turned upside down.  After the Lunar New Year, everyone in the family came down with a bad bug. Baby had the worst hit.  He was terribly sick for more than 2 weeks; coughing so hard every night and unable to drink well due to his blocked nose.  We had to see the pediatrician every 2 days for suction.  Nights were long and Hannah was often awoken from Elijah’s cries.  Nobody had a good sleep for several weeks…that didn’t help with our recovery at all.

Besides dealing with sickness, we’ve been having discipline issues with Hannah.  Probably the lack of good sleep made things far worse than it is, but every day at some point, there would be disobedience or outright defiance.  People often talked about the terrible twos.  For me, it’s the frightening fours (well, soon-to-be).

Every evening, I’d be so exhausted physically, mentally and emotionally.  I have little energy to blog, prepare curriculum or as a matter of fact, do anything at all.  I’ve stopped homeschooling to focus on appropriate behaviour, getting as much rest as I can, and keeping the house clean to stop the flu bug.

Baby Smile: Homeschool Crafts

Things were seemingly better until today.  Right now, Elijah’s down with fever.  Hannah got into trouble this week.  I just snapped.

I can’t hold back my tears.  I’m at a loss.  How do I carry on from here?

I’m stuck in a rut.  Desperately searching for answers but finding none.

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

4 thoughts on “How Do I Carry On?”

  1. Carry on by believing there is light at the end of a very tough tunnel! Sounds like you are doing everything you can for now. There will be more sleep again and then it will be easier.

  2. Illness and sleep deprivation are terribly hard to deal with for long. It wears on you in all ways possible. I pray you have been able to rest. ((hugs)) to you!!

Leave a Reply

