Let It Go…

Let it Go: life at home with a newborn

Let it go, let it go…

Incidentally, as I was thinking of a title for today’s post, I realised it’s been a year since the movie, “Frozen” was premiered.  But the craze hasn’t fade away…(please just melt away!)

It’s hard for me to let go of stability. For the past month or so, I try to get my life back to “normal”.  Under the DiSC profile, I’m high on “S” (steadiness). People with “S” style often dread changes and loss of stability.  We expend much energy to adapt quickly to change and multitasking.

I’m adapting to how we homeschool now. I try to pick up where we’ve stopped. In the past, I plan specifically what I want to do for the week.  Now, we follow the lesson plans quite loosely.

These activity books have come in handy on (many) days when I just have no energy to do anything.  It’s another way to spend time with Hannah while feeding Elijah.  We do craft, revise our bible stories, learn Mandarin and Math with these books.

Preschool activity books for homeschooling

I’m learning to let go of our homeschool routine too.  Instead of having lessons in the morning, we have pockets of short lessons.  Often our lessons are disrupted by Elijah’s cries.  And though I try to wrap up our lesson before attending to Elijah, it isn’t easy for Hannah to pay attention (and me to give my attention) with a crying baby in the background.

After 3 weeks of staying home, I was excited to bring Hannah to meet our friends again and re-join our co-op.  But I’ve realised much haste meant less progress.  My stitches didn’t heal nicely, and I’m home bound again. 😦

Plus, the recent wet season meant more stay in too. It can get quite crazy staying home all day so  I try to bring the children to the playground before 9am and stay home in the afternoons, when it usually rains.

Then we do things like finger (or hand) painting…

Wet-weather activity: finger painting

…making gift cards for Christmas. Hannah enjoys stamping with Ikea’s Mala stamp pen.

Planning for Christmas: Stamping gift cards

And colour coordinate clothes for her baby brother.  By the way, this is a great way to revise one-to-one correspondence and colours.

Coordinating clothes for the newborn

All in all, I’m taking baby steps to adapt to changes.  Sometimes, it can be overwhelming.  It feels as if I’ve exhausted all my energy but I’m completely clueless as to what I’ve accomplished.

To help ease my anxiety and assure myself that things are moving, I start by tackling one task at a time.  Setting a to-do checklist helps too.

If all else fails, I take a deep breath…and just focus on the task at hand.  Then end the day with a hot Milo and reminding myself: things will only get better.

How do you cope with changes? How do you find your sense of balance amidst the chaos?

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

3 thoughts on “Let It Go…”

  1. Oh my goodness. I can relate to this. I hope you slow down and rest so your body can heal. Everything else will wait, even home schooling. I busted my stitches after my 2nd baby because I thought I had to be warrior mom, but that’s just not how healing works. Hope you get some rest! 🙂

    1. Yeah, I know what you mean, April. It’s just that Hannah’s been asking for school for several weeks now and I feel bad turning her down all the time. So I’ve been doing some activities just so that she knows I hear her.

      Got to admit, the healing process for this pregnancy is a whole lot slower than the first. But I’m feeling better these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

