Holding It Together: Coping with a Sick Child

This week, Hannah came down with stomach flu that caused her to throw up after every meal.  I’m not sure why, but she’s been sick so often that I’ve developed a phobia whenever I hear her cough or sneeze.  My mind immediately triggers “Alert! Alert!” and I feel my stomach flutter.

It’s hard to get by each day with a cranky, feverish kid who looks green about the gills.  By the end of the day, my patience is wearing thin. I’m exhausted, sticky and my back hurts terribly (from all the squatting and bending to clean up the mess).  I’m waving the white flag…waiting for any help to arrive!  I’m grateful that my husband takes over as much as he can, whenever he’s back from work.

Coping with a sick child: Steadfast love of the Lord

By Thursday, I just didn’t know how to carry on. I was worn out but couldn’t fall asleep.  As I sat on my bed with my head bowed, the lyrics to the hymn, “The Steadfast Love of the Lord (Never Ceases)” flooded in my mind.  I’m reminded to let go of the day’s troubles and find peace in God’s love and faithfulness.

I struggle to let go of my anxiety, troubles and fear even after I’ve said my prayers.  I pray for help but instead of leaving my burdens at the foot of the cross, I take them all back.  That night, my husband and I poured out our hearts to God.  We needed much encouragement and peace.

On Friday, Hannah was feeling better.  She wasn’t as fussy as the other days, and her vomiting has stopped.  You have no idea how relieved I felt!

Ever since I’ve become a mom, it’s through circumstances like this that render me helpless that I’ve learned to cling to His word.  I’m grateful for a faithful Father that sees us through every situation.  There’s still a long, long journey and I hope to be a better mom through life’s little lessons.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

John 14:27

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

6 thoughts on “Holding It Together: Coping with a Sick Child”

  1. Hugs. Its tough when the kids are sick. Glad that you have found comfort in the word of God. Truly His steadfast love never ceases and His peace is with us to see us through the storm.

Leave a Reply

