Lessons I’ve Learned While Having Insomnia

Ever since the early weeks of pregnancy, I’ve been finding difficulty to stay asleep.  I’d suddenly wake up in the wee hours of the morning, unable to fall back to sleep until around 5 or 6 a.m.  Then, Hannah will wake me up at 7.30 or 8 a.m (on a good day).  Initially, I’ve tried very hard to lull myself to sleep – counting sheep, drinking warm milk, listening to soft music, adjusting the bedroom temperature etc.  Nothing helped.

Tossing and turning in bed was a sure way to get my thoughts run wild.  Many things will run through my mind, and somehow anxiety, fear and worry creeps in.  Doesn’t help at all.

Instead, I’ve learned to get up and spend some quiet time with God.  Praying for the family, friends with prayer petitions, listening to online sermons and reading Bible devotions.  With everyone asleep, it’s very quiet and conducive for a me-and-God time.

Here are two things I’ve learned this week:

Women in O.T were everyday women walking with God

While going through a Bible lesson on the women in the Old Testament (e.g. Sarah, Hannah, Rahab and Ruth), I’ve come to realise that these inspiring women were just like any of us.  They have chores to do, children to raise, responsibilities inside and outside of home.

But their trust and hope in God kept them going. Their walk made a difference.

The women in the Old Testament were everyday women, just like us.  But their trust and hope in God kept them going. Their walk made a difference.

Nothing from God is ordinary

During bible-study group, when my church leader asked the group if there’s something good to share for the week or if there’s anything to give thanks for, I’m usually quiet. I’d gathered that the things to share were usually things that made people go “WOW!”.  I have no earth-shaking testimonies to share.  So it’s better to remain silent.

But I was wrong.  There’s nothing ordinary about what God has done for you.  That throbbing pain in your head that God healed, the kind encouragement you needed for the week, the small voice that reminded you to do something wasn’t all by chance.

There is nothing from God that is ordinary

I’d like to share with you a testimony that I’ve only shared with my husband thus far.   In January, I missed my period.  I did a test and the result was negative.  By end January, I still wasn’t having my period.  I did a test again and it was negative.

On the first week of February, my stomach felt bloated.  I thought it’s likely due to my missed period (similar to past experiences).  I decided to make a trip to the doctor to regulate my menstrual cycle.  Usually, he’d give me medication that I’d take for about a week, and then my period would come.

On that morning before, at around 3am, I was awoken by my inner voice nudged me to do a pregnancy test.  I didn’t want to since I just did two tests and both came out negative.  But I couldn’t get back to sleep, and the nudging persisted.  Since I couldn’t fall back to sleep, I did the test.

As expected, the line under “Control” appeared almost immediately.  I was very sure that the result was negative, and was about to throw the stick away.  Then I saw a change.  A faint line under “Test” started to appear.  The line became bolder.  I was speechless.

Pregnancy test results are out!

Skeptics may say it’s all in the head.  Others may say, “Your doctor would have checked before giving you the medication anyway.”  I’m not sure about that.  I wouldn’t know.  All I know was I heard the reminder, and I’m glad I did checked.

What I’m trying to say is, many a times, our days may seem ordinary and nothing’s a biggie.  But take those moments to reflect, you might find the hand of God in those ordinary times.  And say a little “thank you” to our ever-faithful Father.

Live a good life for Christ!

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in Him.

Psalm 34:8

 

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

One thought on “Lessons I’ve Learned While Having Insomnia”

Leave a Reply

