The Good, Bad and Ugly: My Past Weeks Summarised

The Good…

Pregnancy test results are out!

The second line finally showed up!   I’m on an emotional roller coaster these couple of weeks.  One minute, I’m moody, the next minute, I’m totally fine and dandy.  While we’ve been planning for this baby, I’m still trying to soak it all in.  I can’t help but feel anxious, excited, afraid all at the same time.

The Bad…

currumbin_koala

I’ve been snoozing, snoozing, snoozing every now and then.  Even sleeping after 10 hours, it just doesn’t seem enough.  Homeschooling has been on a slower pace now.  I feel guilty not giving Hannah more activities and outdoor play.

The Ugly…

IMG_0909

I have nausea the entire day.  The worst hit is in the evenings when I turn into a toilet hugger.  The usual setting: my face in the toilet bowl; Hannah stroking my back and asking, “Mama, are you feeling better?”

Moms, how do you juggle pregnancy and homeschooling?

 

Photo credits: Jeff Nelson and Glenn Belts

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

19 thoughts on “The Good, Bad and Ugly: My Past Weeks Summarised”

  1. Congratulations! How exciting! Well, not the nausea part….With my last couple pregnancies I started focusing more on protein and water (even though I didn’t want to eat/drink it) and it helped a lot with the nausea. I always try to remind myself that Homeschooling is about teaching a child to be a great HUMAN, that means they need to be flexible and learn about LIFE, not just academics. Do your best and it will all be just fine 🙂 Prayers your way!

    1. Hi Meg! *Hugs* Thank you for your advice and prayers! I’ll try adding more protein and fluids into my diet. Hope that helps ease the nausea..*crossing fingers and toes*

      On the homeschooling part, I think it’s a internal struggle within myself that I’ve got to overcome – the anxiety that I’m not doing enough.

      1. Hugs right back at you! I hope things are improving! I struggle with that anxiety as well. Sometimes I have to put a hand on my own shoulder and remind myself that really the most important thing is love. Love God, love family, love self and love learning…it seems all the rest follows in succession…it sure is hard to remember that on a daily basis though:) I know you’ll do great though, morning sickness or not. Your in my thoughts and prayers!

      2. Thanks Meg for your prayers. This week has been better. I’m able to manage the nausea by avoiding certain food/smell, and eating small portions. I try to take more fruits like melons and chinese pears to replenish the fluids. I realised water makes me throw up more when it’s that period of time.

  2. Congratulations!! 😀
    Oh, that first trimester – BLAH. Not much advice except that you should definitely not feel guilty or aim to do things you were doing previously. Maybe do more reading (so you can sit!!) instead of hands-on things? 🙂

  3. Ohhh! I totally know where you’re at. I was pregnant with our fifth all through the 2012/2013 school year. I did a lot of reading out-loud from the sofa or my bed. And when I did feel well enough to be of any use I made sure we got out and did something fun instead of falling under the temptation of catching up on housekeeping chores. My kids won’t ever remember that the house was a mess and we ate junk food for 9 months. I really clung to Isaiah 40:11 during that time, “He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young.”

    1. Thanks for dropping by! Yep, I’m taking your advice! I try to bring Hannah out at least once a week so I’d gear up for that day by resting well the night before, bring crackers along to munch, and a plastic bag, just in case. 😛

  4. Congratulations!!! I spent the first four and half months on the couch. Most days I had a few hours where I felt okay. We got school done in those times. Rest up. 🙂 Eat when you can. Congrats again!

    1. Hi Stacy

      Thanks for dropping by! Thank you for your encouragement and well wishes. Yep, trying to rest as much as I can, and I try to bring Hannah out at least once a week (when I’m not too queasy).

  5. Congrats!! I know how you feel with morning sickness and older kids to care for. I had morning sickness for all my 3 pregnancies. Blog certainly took a back seat and each time I came home from work, I went on to puke. No mood to do anything only sleep. Couldn’t even stand, let alone play with kids and household chores. It took me till 5th month to be back as a normal person. Meanwhile, relax and just rest. Do activities with your child on good days. Delegate many things to your hubby. Take good care 🙂

    1. Thanks very much, Christy! Yes, I’m trying to rest as much as I can. Very grateful that my husband’s helping out with most of the chores at home, and he helps take care of Hannah in the evening while I rest (after puking).

Leave a Reply

