…QRSTUV…

20130510-232101.jpg

To help Hannah familiarize herself with the alphabet, I’ve used pipe cleaners to create the letters, and pasted them on the wall. I’ve created both the upper-case and lower-case alphabet.

I wasn’t sure whether to introduce upper-case first then lower-case or at the same time. Eventually, I decided to do both at the same time, since I figured she would see both upper and lower-case letters in books anyway.

I taught Hannah to trace the letters with her finger. The “pop-up” effect of the pipe cleaners helped made tracing easier.

Every few weeks, I would introduce new letters to avoid overwhelming the little girl.

And rather than getting Hannah to say “upper-case” and “lower-case” (which is a mouthful), I told her “big” and “small”, for starters. Although, I’m not sure this is the right way.

How did you introduce upper and lower case letters to your child? I love to hear them.

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

3 thoughts on “…QRSTUV…”

  1. Neat idea! What a great tactile way to learn letters. I’d say our main way of learning letters is through children’s picture books – the ones with bright colorful ABCs and a picture to go with the sound of the letter. There are so many out there, so we just keep getting different ones each trip to the library! I figure broad exposure can’t hurt anything! I’ve also done a little activity where I write lower and upper-case letters on a white board, then ask my preschooler to erase the ones I call out. I’ll have to try this pipe cleaner idea sometime soon. 🙂

    1. Thanks for sharing! Reading is an excellent way to expose children to the alphabet. Nothing beats that 😉

Leave a Reply

