Left, right, left and right

IMG_0663

The footwork diagrams for ballroom dancing gave me an idea to help Hannah learn left and right.

Using an empty cereal box, I traced Hannah’s left and right shoes.  After which, I labelled the left and right in three languages (English, Mandarin and Malay).  The footprints led to a platform with the word, “Bounce!”.  Hannah was learning to bounce at around 19-20 months so that gave her some incentive to walk on the footprints.

To further enrich learning, I taught her the nursery rhyme, “Goosey, Goosey Gander” where a sentence in the lyrics mentions a left leg.  So whenever I said “left leg”, Hannah would lift her left leg.

While my husband found the nursery rhyme inappropriate for a child, I thought we shouldn’t read too much into the lyrics.  Moreover, I was taught this rhyme in kindergarten, and I grew up fine 🙂

Here are the lyrics:

Goosey goosey gander,
Whither shall I wander?
Upstairs and downstairs
And in my lady’s chamber.
There I met an old man
Who wouldn’t say his prayers,
So I took him by his left leg
And threw him down the stairs.

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler.

3 thoughts on “Left, right, left and right”

Leave a Reply

