Animals!

IMG_0906    IMG_0928

Alongside with our book of the week, “Good Night, Gorilla“, we read stories relating to wild animals and farm animals.  This ties in nicely with Week 7 of ABCJLM’s Curriculum – farm animals.

I’ve also adopted some of Hubbard’s Cupboard’s suggested activities for zoo animals.  Hannah enjoyed making animal prints/tracks on her play-dough and paint.  Even now, she’ll ask for her animals whenever she plays play-dough.

We’ve also learned to separate farm animals from wild animals.  Sadly, our stack of plastic animals didn’t have much of the wild animals.  So the comparison was a little lopsided.  Hannah insisted of having the ostrich as a farm animal.  She’s not entirely wrong there! :)

If you have older kids, you can create your own zoo as suggested by “No Time for Flash Cards”.  We’ll definitely try this out when Hannah starts writing!

TIP: For the paint, I simply added food dye into water and used old cardboard so that Hannah can splosh splash however she wants.  I’ll probably get proper paint when Hannah’s older.

 

Published by

Dawn @ Homeschool Crafts

I decided to take a break from the corporate world to spend some time with my children. Being a stay-home mom, I’m always busy raising my kids, making our house a home, and always on a lookout for ways to keep the little ones entertained with DIY projects and games. I never thought I would homeschool my children but now, I’m enjoying every moment of it! The days are not always bright and dandy, I have my fair share of struggles and anxieties. But I thank God for the rainbow after every storm. The life lessons I’ve picked up have been humbling and inspiring. I’m still pretty much just starting out my journey on raising my children to be a woman and man of faith. There’s still so much to discover and learn!

3 thoughts on “Animals!”

Leave a Reply

